Thursday, October 28, 2010

The Constitutional Conference also addressed amendments to the Federation Agreement (part 7 of the series on the Social Contract)

Thursday, 28 October 2010

The Federation of Malaya Agreement was signed on 21st January 1948 and came into force on 1st February of that same year. A form of common citizenship was created for all who acknowledged Malaya as their permanent home and the object of their undivided loyalty. Within this framework the settlements of Penang and Malacca remained British territory while Singapore became a separate colony under its own Governor.


Raja Petra Kamarudin

No comments:

Post a Comment

All slanderous comments will be deleted .Comments that include personal attacks, and antisocial behaviour such as spamming and trolling; will be removed. You are fully responsible for the content you post. Please be responsible and stay on topic.